TISD Elementary Students Recognized in TAEA TEAM Competition

TEMPLE, Texas — Students from four Temple Independent School District schools were recognized for their participation in the Texas Art Education Association’s (TAEA) Texas Elementary Art Meet at special presentations on their campuses. Those students were awarded either a medal or a ribbon depending on the rating their artwork received from the competition’s judges.

Elementary school art teachers submit their student’s work through the Texas Elementary Art Meet or TEAM competition. Those works are then rated by independent jurors and receive one of three different ratings. Students receiving a “good” or “grow” rating for their artwork are recognized with a ribbon. Students earning an “exemplary” rating for their work are presented with a medal. The top 10 percent of the projects are also honored with a “Top of Team” recognition. Temple ISD had a total of 35 students participate in the TAEA TEAM competition this spring, representing Meridith-Dunbar Early Childhood Academy, Kennedy-Powell Elementary School, Scott Elementary School, and Western Hills Elementary School. Thirty-three of those students received “exemplary” recognition and four students were honored as “Top of TEAM” The four students earning “Top of Team” recognition are Maleiyah Avila of Meridith-Dunbar, Kaiden Adeleja and Gabby Lyons, both of Scott Elementary and Khloe Larkin from Western Hills Elementary.

 “The students realize that they aren’t just working for themselves, but they are working to show off their art to people across the state of Texas. Being honored for that with exemplary ratings shows them that their hard work paid off,” said Meagan Foster, art teacher at Western Hills Elementary School and lead elementary art teacher for Temple ISD. “I am extremely proud of our students, and I am extremely proud of myself. I think participating in and being recognized in programs like this is important because it reinforces to our students that the arts matter.” 

According to the TAEA TEAM adjudication criteria, student artwork should demonstrate proficiency in eight different categories that range from critical thinking to elements or art and principles of design, and from technical skills and execution to problem-solving and creative skills. The artwork is then evaluated on personal expression and purpose, technique, craftsmanship and elements of art and principles of design.

“My picture is a rainbow because I saw one outside and thought it was beautiful,” Larkin said after receiving her medal. “I was excited to get medals and certificates. I was also surprised and a little bit nervous.”

Student honorees by school are: Western Hills Elementary – Caiden Caldwell, William Clements, Khloe Larkin, Annaliese Hernandez, Elijah Scott, Lily Sidelmann, Malik Lawrence, Ahyanna Johnson. Scott Elementary – Kaiden Adelaja, Carmen Bonds, Hazel Hutson, Gabby Lyons, Alaya Ramos, Dazz Shamburger, Makhilah White, Lauren Kiser. Kennedy-Powell Elementary – Cameron Girard, Charles Stoebner, Andrea Aldrete, Savannah Bristow, Tabitha Chappell, Dawson McCauley, Megan Minaker, Eleyna Morse, Madeline Terry, Havenne Waller. Meridith-Dunbar Early Childhood Academy – Honor Villarreal, Maleiyah Avila, Kaidence Daniels, Rebecca Galindo, Aubree Guerra, Kassidy Magana, Andres Medina Vega, Micharl Mills, Bianca Nava.

TAEA started the TEAM competition in 2009 as an extension of the Visual Art Scholastic Event (VASE) available to high school and middle school students.